What "G.I. Joe" does for fun

Ever wonder what the intrepid men and women of “G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra” do in their off-hours?Just watch “The Ballad of G.I. Joe,” the latest offering from the comedy geniuses at FunnyOrDie.com.You recognize more than a few famous faces in the above video, including Billy Crudup (Zartan), Zach Galifiankais (Snow Job), Julianne Moore (Scarlett), Henry Rollins (Duke) and Vinnie Jones (Destro).

Central Coast native and Ultimate Fighting champ Chuck Liddell even makes an appearance — as Dr. Mindbender’s ham radio buddy, Gung Ho.

Director David Strange and his co-writer, Kevin Umbricht, serenade the bunch as balladeers Torch and Ripper, respectively.

***

Local blogger Chris Daly offers his take on the 118-minute commercial that is “G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra” right here. Check out his blog, Film Spoilers, for more scathing reviews.

3 comments

  1. The Man from Moqui · ·

    I remember having a G.I. Joe when I was a kid. But buying the accessories made it difficult to give Joe the gear I WANTED. Now, I guess, I can have it all by watching the film. Hmmm. I was thinking of passing, but my co-worker and her husband (an ex-Army man) said it was pretty entertaining. Mindless fun in a James Bondy-sci-fi way.

  2. A friend of mine told me as a kid that:
    • first week you own a G.I. Joe you play with it every day.
    • second week not as much
    • third week you forgot you have one
    • fourth week the the giant squid knocks Joe off the jet ski and rides off on it

  3. Masked Avenger · ·

    “Destro and the Baroness practicin’ their clarinets …”

    I love this video! Brilliant!