Son of Clint

Kyle Eastwood talks about working with his filmmaker dad, Clint Eastwood

Jazz musician Kyle Eastwood has a tough act to follow.

His father, Clint Eastwood, is one of Hollywood’s creative forces. As an actor, he’s made a career out of playing grizzled, squint-eyed men of few words, ranging from Dirty Harry to The Man with No Name. As a director and composer, he’s crafted critically acclaimed dramas and historical epics including Oscar winners “Unforgiven” and “Million Dollar Baby.”Jazz musician Kyle Eastwood is the son of actor-director Clint Eastwood

Eastwood’s son, Kyle, has made his own reputation as a jazz bassist and band leader living in Paris. He’s released three albums, including 2006’s “Now” and worked with his dad on films such as “Mystic River,” “Flags of Our Fathers” and “Letters From Iwo Jima.”

Although most people would cringe at the thought of working so closely with their parents, Kyle Eastwood seems to take it in stride.

“He’s pretty easy to work with and we get along really well,” he said recently in a Tribune interview. “I’ve kind of grown up watching him work. I have a pretty good idea of what he likes and what he doesn’t like.”

Kyle Eastwood and Ramblin’ Jack Elliott performed this weekend at Martin & Weyrich Winery in Paso Robles, as part of the Paso Robles Digital Film Festival. (The festival continues through Tuesday.)

I chatted with Kyle about his famous father, his career and films. Here are some interesting tidbits from the interview.

As a kid, you appeared with your father in “The Outlaw Josey Wales,” “Bronco Billy” and Honkytonk Man.” What made you opt for a career behind the scenes?

The acting bug never really bit me too much. I was always interested in being behind the camera. I went to USC for a short stint as a film major but I decided to pursue music (in 1986) and never went back.

I was always interested in music and film. Music was what I loved the most.

Why jazz?

It was what my parents were listening to around the house. I remember going out to the Monterey Jazz Festival, seeing some of the greats perform in the mid- to late ’70s.

I went through phases of looking at a lot of different music (but) … My jazz is my first love.

What kind of jazz do you play?

I’m influenced by all different kinds of music … everything from swing to fusion to funk. Little bits of it all find (their) way into my composing.

How does composing film scores differ from writing your own jazz songs?

It’s a different kind of challenge, writing film music. You have to write something to fit a picture. Sometimes a piece of music can be 10 seconds long or 10 minutes long. You have to have guidelines to go on.

Music is obviously an important aspect of film. There are (film scores) that become as important as one of the characters and there are ones that play a supporting role. If you took it out, you would notice it.

Dramatic films or suspense films are always going to have the need for music that brings tension or emotion to the pictures.